Peter Rowe running at Jersey Shore

Peter Rowe’s Heart History

MPeter Rowe runningy father passed away from a sudden heart attack in 1961 at 50 years old.  His father had died at the age of 40 from cardisovascular disease (CVD).  With my father’s passing I committed myself to do all that I could to stay healthy and live a long a vital life.

My first step to a healthy lifestyle was to start running with the belief that the heart was a muscle and that, if exercised, it could remain strong and healthy.  In 1961 the popular belief was that athletes died young because of an enlarged heart and my father had been boxer and soccer player in college.  I would run several times a week for a short distance, but not as often and not nearly as far as I do now.

The medical science regarding cardiovascular health wasn’t nearly where it is today and the enlarged athlete heart belief was clearly wrong in 1961. However, my belief that exercising the heart would prevent CVD was a gross oversimplification.

In 1973, as I and the medical community became more sophisticated regarding CVD, my medical doctor ordered my first heart related blood test.  The test results showed a total cholesterol reading of 210 and by 1991 the reading had climbed to 288 – a concern.  The HDL reading, the good and cleansing cholesterol, was high and good, so that the ratio of the two was in an acceptable range.  At this time I was learning more about the importance of diet and sleep as well as exercise for the prevention of CVD.

In 1995 we became Nikken Wellness Consultants, which led us to an even greater understanding of the importance of a healthy lifestyle.  My heart health blood readings continued to improve, but were still not ideal. I should note that many other tests along the way, such as stress tests of different types, all showed a healthy heart.

In 2010 I discovered ASEA and became an Independent ASEA Consultant.

My health issues have lead to a healthy lifestyle and a career in the Health Industry. All good!

For more information contact us.

Leave a Reply

